## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 30, 2024

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Speaker Johnson, and Minority Leader Jeffries:

As you know, Hurricane Helene made landfall in Florida as a devastating Category 4 hurricane before making its way through Georgia and downgrading to a tropical storm affecting South Carolina, North Carolina, Kentucky, and Tennessee. As preliminary disaster assessments come in, we have already seen that the high winds and rainfall of the storm have caused our states' agricultural sectors to suffer catastrophic losses.

To prevent deep and lasting economic damage to the agricultural industry in the southeastern United States, it is imperative that Congress make appropriations as soon as possible upon the completion of damage assessments to fully fund unmet agricultural disaster relief needs in our states and across the nation.

Additionally, farmers and growers nationwide, not only those damaged by Helene, have now faced multiple growing seasons without sufficient federal support. Our constituents are counting on us to act swiftly.

Federal agricultural disaster assistance is essential to help our States and our Nation recover. We urge you to work with the administration to ensure disaster relief resources are made available to our growers. Thank you for your support, and we look forward to working with you to secure these critical resources.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

Austin Scott Member of Congress Raphael Warnock
United States Senator

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

David Scott
Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Carte

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV
Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Lucy MCBat,

Mike Collins
Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen
Member of Congress

Marjorie Taylor Greene Member of Congress Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Kathy Castor
Member of Congress

Jared Moslowitz Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D.
Member of Congress

Kathy Manning
Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson
Member of Congress

Thom Tillis
United States Senator

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Dan Bishop Member of Congress Chuck Edwards
Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel
Member of Congress

Jeff Jackson

Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress