Allen, Owens Reintroduce the Education Freedom Scholarships and Opportunity Act

WASHINGTON -Reps. Rick Allen (GA-12) and Burgess Owens (UT-04) last week introduced the Education Freedom Scholarships and Opportunity Act. The bill expands quality elementary, secondary, and career and technical education opportunities for students by providing a federal tax credit to encourage individuals and businesses to donate to nonprofit scholarship funds. U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) introduced the companion bill in the Senate.

“Every student, regardless of zip code or family resources, deserves a quality education and the chance to achieve the American Dream. The Education Freedom Scholarships & Opportunity Act will help families send their child to a school of their choice by creating a tax credit to encourage individuals and businesses to donate to nonprofit scholarship funds and invest in our next generation. This is a common-sense way to help some of our most vulnerable students who, without a scholarship, may be unable to afford tuition and other education expenses,” said Rep. Rick Allen.

“A high-quality education can be the path out of poverty for millions. School choice empowers families to make the best educational choice for their children instead of being limited by circumstances out of their control like being trapped in low-performing schools. I am pleased to join Reps. Owens and Allen in supporting The Education Freedom Scholarships and Opportunity Act, which will expand access to educational opportunities for students,” said Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Republican Leader of the Committee on Education and Labor.

“From early learning to higher education, every single student in America deserves access to quality education - regardless of race, income, or zip code. One size does not fit all, and the Education Freedom Scholarships and Opportunity Act expands common-sense approaches to diverse education opportunities,” said Rep. Burgess Owens.

The full list of cosponsors include:
Rep. Virginia Foxx (NC-05), Rep. Rick Allen (GA-12), Rep. Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Rep. Robert Aderholt (AL-04), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Rep. Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Rep. Bill Posey (FL-08), Rep. Daniel Webster (FL-11), Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10), Rep. James Baird (IN-04), Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Rep. John Moolenaar (MI-04), Rep. Michael Guest (MS-03), Rep. Dan Bishop (NC-09), Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13), Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01), Rep. Jim Jordan (OH-04), Rep. Robert Latta (OH-05), Rep. Steve Stivers (OH-15), Rep. Scott Perry (PA-10), Rep. Fred Keller (PA-12), Rep. John Joyce (PA-13), Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02), Rep. Ralph Norman (SC-05), Rep. Tom Rice (SC-07), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Rep. Randy Weber (TX-14), Rep. Ben Cline (VA-06), and Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08).


Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.