Allen Leads Letter to Help Utilize Nuclear Production Tax Credit for Plant Vogtle

Congressman Rick W. Allen (GA-12) today led a bipartisan, bicameral letter to the U.S. Department of the Treasury asking for guidance to be issued for the Advanced Nuclear Production Tax Credit (NPTC). Advanced nuclear facilities, particularly Plant Vogtle, are currently unable to utilize these tax credits until new guidance is issued. The letter is signed by members of Congress from Georgia, Alabama and Florida, as these unique tax credits will directly benefit customers served by Plant Vogtle in these states.

In their letter, the Members write:

“In Georgia, Plant Vogtle Units 3 and 4 are the first advanced nuclear units ever to be built in the U.S. These Units are expected to enter commercial service in the third quarter of 2022 (Unit 3) and second quarter of 2023 (Unit 4). Once completed, these units will produce enough clean electricity to power one million homes and businesses. Plant Vogtle is owned by four entities with differing ownership and governance structures. The 2018 changes to the NPTC extend the NPTC and provide a mechanism to assure that all co-owners of the plant, regardless of ownership structure and tax status, could equally benefit from the provision of tax credits. Guidance far in advance of the commercial operation of Units 3 and 4 will allow the co-owners of Plant Vogtle to plan for the allocation of tax credits and secure agreements to maximize the benefit of the tax credits generated by operating the plant.”

Full text of the letter can be found here.

The letter was signed by: Rick W. Allen (R-GA-12), Sen. Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Sen. Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL), Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA-01), Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA-02), Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-GA-03), Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA-04), Rep. Lucy McBath (D-GA-06), Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-GA-07), Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA-08), Rep. Andrew Clyde (R-GA-09), Rep. Jody Hice (R-GA-10), Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11), Rep. David Scott (D-GA-13), Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene(R-GA-14), Rep. Jerry Carl (R-AL-01), Rep. Barry Moore (R-AL-02), Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL-03), Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL-04), Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL-05), Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL-06), Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL-07), Rep. Neal Dunn (R-FL-02), Rep. Al Lawson (D-FL-05)



Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.